New Milford Wrestlers Win Title, NHS Second

New Milford's wrestling team won the SWC championship at Pomperaug High on February 15. The Green Wave had seven place winners, including a trio of first-place finishers, and finished with 162 points. Newtown had eight place finishers and was second with 156.50 points.

132 division champ: Max Piel, of New Milford, won the 132 pound weight division title by pinning Brookfield's Richie Stabile in 3:23 of their pinnacle match. Newtown's Angel Colon was fourth in the 126 division.

145 champ: Green Wave grappler Khalil Bourjelli won the 145 division championship with an 8-3 decision over Brookfield's Louis Stabile in the finals.

170 champ: Richie Morrell, of New Milford, won the 170 division with a pin fall win over New Fairfield's Coleman Douchette in 3:57.

182 champ: Newtown's Steven Vournazos won the 182 title with a 3-1 win over Bunnell's Nick Demanche.

106: New Milford's Evan Lindner was second in the 106 pound weight division, winning two matches by pin fall before losing a 5-3 decision to Joel Barlow's Josh Brault in the title bout. Newtown's Luca Manfredi was third with an 8-0 major decision win over Bethel's Jerry Hill in their match.

113: New Milford's Jake Coniglio pinned Newtown's Greg Gargano in 2:34 for third place.

120: New Milford's Tynan Lim earned third place with a pin fall victory in his final match.

126: Newtown's Ben Plaue was runner-up, losing a 10-0 major decision to Pomperaug's Mike Carpenter after winning by pin fall and major decision in earlier rounds.

138: New Milford's Peter Coniglio was second, winning two bouts via pin before losing a 6-1 decision to New Fairfield's Devin Anderson in the finals. Newtown's Ben Watson was third, pinning Stratford's Joshua Kydes in 2:29 of their final match.

152: Newtown's Fritz Maurath was third, scoring a 9-1 major decision win over Notre Dame's Mark Delima in their final bout.

160: Newtown's Steven Leuci was second, falling in a 10-2 major decision to Brookfield's Zahir McLean-Felix.

New Milford's Max Piel pins Brookfield's Richie Stabile for the 132 title.

New Milford's Khalil Bourjelli, right, earned an 8-3 decision over Brookfield's Louis Stabile for the 145 title.

New Milford's Richie Morrill pinned New Fairfield's Coleman Douchette for the 170 championship.

Visit The SWC Website For Standings And Schedules

  • White Facebook Icon

© 2019